Jne 16 Naron to Pontedeume 27km

Yesterday coming into Ferrol saw some pilgrims on the bridge and I could not remember ever being on that bridge, today I realized it is a shortcut to avoid going to Neda. Today in actual fact we walked all around Ferrol but on the other side of the estuary

In my hotel we were at least 4 english speaking pilgrims last night. Met two girls walking alone but I had seen both in the bus, also met 4 girls don’t know where they came from also saw yesterday. Saw a father with his two children running down a hill also took pictures for an argentina couple, so all together 13 pilgrims.

In Fene went to a bar but walked out a spanish guy was there shouting, went next door and who shows up same guy still shooting, drank my coffee quickly and left.

Today my app did not match with the actual camino, could not figure why

Really took my time, walking alone you pay more attention to your surroundings. After Fene we went up hill for 400 meters but they were civilized because very gradual where you reach Vilar do Colo, time for another coffee to prepare me for the sharp descent to Cabanas and Pontedeume, my home for the day

Leaving Neda this morning we walked in a parkland path and wooden boardwalk where I came upon a cat sitting and meowing, still had an old bogadillo so gave him all the meat and cheese, he was very affectionate and purring very loudly and very thankful, I don’t usually feed animals but he was so hungry and I got rid of excess baggage

Had my first calamares today and they were very good, not overdone. The resto is called Compostelle, very noisy, a spanish lady with her two kids, a boy and a younger girl, reminded me of my brother and me when

we were young, I tried to follow him everywhere but it did not always work so I would cry and this young girl did the same, mother was screaming louder than the kids, not my day for people noise

Yesterday was the first time in weeks that I could sleep more than 8 hours, so having lunch and dinner early, after the blog while looking at facebook I notice I was nodding off, it was 6:30 so closed the light and was gone right away, the buzz of my phone woke me up at 10:30, it was Rogers telling me I could roam like home, I have been here for 2 1/2 months I think I know that by now, they are very annoying. Then it took a while for me to fall sleep there was a soccer match and every so often they would cheer very loudly and noise carried through the stairs, by midnight I was back in dream land and woke up at 7:36 put pm instead of am on my alarm. Breakfast was at 8:00 and being a short day it did not matter. Tomorrow breakfast is at 7:00 am again a 20km day, not complaining just enjoying leisurely walk

Just finish a long epistle to Merrell regarding my new boots, less than a month, less than a 1,000km the top, inside the boot is ripping, and both sole on one side have no treads, not impressed, just hope that the hole on the back does not get bigger still have a week left of walking, what a bummer

Leave a comment